You are here: Home BHF Centre of Research Excellence Researchers Steve G Davies

Steve G Davies

Chairman of Chemistry and Waynflete Professor of Chemistry
Organic chemistry

Cardiovascular subthemes

Web Personal Website
Tel 01865 275646
PA Ms Anne Tennant-Eyles
Email (PA)
Tel (PA) 01865 275695
Contact address Chemistry Research Laboratory, 12 Mansfield Road, Oxford, OX1 3TA, United Kingdom
Department Department of Chemistry
College New College
Steve G Davies

Prof Steve Davies

The development of novel efficient methods for the production of enantiomerically pure (homochiral) compounds is one of the major themes of contemporary organic chemistry.   In this internationally competitive arena, and over the past twenty years, the Davies group has conducted investigations concerned with a fantastic array of topics, varying from stereoselective organometallic chemistry to medicinal and combinatorial synthesis through to the development of low weight organic chiral auxiliaries and enantiorecognition phenomena.



Prof S. G. Davies received his B. A. in 1973 from New College, University of Oxford and D. Phil (supervised by Dr. Gordon Whitham) in 1975, also at the University of Oxford.

He subsequently held an ICI Postdoctoral Fellowship (1975-1977 with Prof. Malcolm Green) and a NATO Fellowship (1977-1978 with Prof. Sir Derek Barton) before joining the CNRS at Gif-sur-Yvette collaborating with Dr. Hugh Felkin.

He returned to Oxford in 1980 to a University Lectureship and then Professorship, as well as a Fellowship of New College. He has since published over 375 research papers, and has been the recipient of a variety of awards for his contribution to organic synthesis, including the Hickinbottom Fellowship (1984), the Pfizer Award for Chemistry (1985, 1988), the Royal Society of Chemistry Award for Organometallic Chemistry (1987), the Royal Society of Chemistry Bader Award (1989), the Tilden Lecture Award (1996) , the Royal Society of Chemistry Award in Stereochemistry (1997), and the Prize Lectureship of the Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan (1998).

He is also a member of the Executive Editorial Board for Tetrahedron publications, and Founder and Editor in Chief for Tetrahedron: Asymmetry.