You are here: Home Graduate Studies Clinical Research Training Fellowships

Overview of Clinical Research Training Fellowships

The British Heart Foundation (BHF) has invested £14.4 million in a Centre of Research Excellence (CRE) at the University of Oxford. The award enables researchers to develop an unrivalled research training programme and carry out an ambitious and innovative research programme focused on cardiovascular disease. Pipetting (Copyright Rob Judges)

Each year,  a maximum of one Clinical Research Training Fellowship will be funded by the BHF CRE in Oxford, to a clinician of exceptional promise wishing to undertake a DPhil (PhD) focusing on cardiovascular disease. The fellowship will only be awarded in cases where an external fellowship application directly to the BHF is not possible or would not secure the candidate in time.

It is envisaged that those we appoint will have a BSc (2:1 minimum), a medical degree and some specialist experience (typically having obtained MRCP or equivalent, but not CCT or consultant status). The aim of the Fellowship programme is to provide high quality research training in basic and translational cardiovascular science for talented clinicians who aspire to a career in academic medicine. Information on our current Fellows can be found here.

The BHF CRE in Oxford brings together 58 research groups in 10 University Departments and Centres. Their research spans diverse areas and covers the translational research spectrum, from basic to clinical research. Research themes include cardiac developmental biology, epidemiology & clinical trials, cardiac imaging, human genetics, cellular signalling, cardiovascular pharmacology, vascular biology, target discovery, and myocardial biology & disease. Consequently, the BHF CRE provides a diverse and outstanding research training environment.

The Director of the BHF Centre of Research Excellence is Prof Hugh Watkins (Division of Cardiovascular Medicine, Radcliffe Department of Medicine). He is supported by an Executive Committee comprised of:
Prof Rory Collins (Clinical Trials Service Unit, Nuffield Department of Clinical Medicine)
Prof David Paterson (Department of Physiology, Anatomy & Genetics)