Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

View the programme here


Congratulations to the poster prize winners:



Student Poster Prize Winner

Maria Sousa Fialho (DPAG - Lisa Heather group)

Pharmacological stimulation of HIF signalling as a potential treatment approach for the type 2 diabetic heart



Student posters – Judge’s Choices

Blake Thomson (NDPH CTSU - Jon Emberson group)

Smoking and mortality: 14-year prospective study of 150,000 Mexican adults

Nidi Tapoulal (DPAG – David Paterson & Neil Herring group)

Arrhythmogenic action of the sympathetic cotransmitter Neuropeptide Y




Researcher (non-student) Poster Prize Winner

Dr Kerstin Timm  (DPAG – Damian Tyler group)

Hyperpolarized 13C magnetic resonance spectroscopy reveals real-time metabolic flux changes in a rat model of doxorubicin-induced cardiotoxicity



Researcher (non-student) posters  - Judge’s Choices

Dr Rebecca Capel (Pharmacology – Rebecca Burton group)

IP3-dependent signalling in cardiac atria and sino-atrial node; a role for calcium-sensitive adenylyl cyclases

Dr Sonali Munshaw (DPAG – Nicola Smart group)

Thymosin b4 mediates vascular protection via interaction with Low Density Lipoprotein Receptor Related Protein 1 (LRP1)